Blogging Via My Cupboard

It’s funny the things that get you to focus on your blogging again.’

I assumed that with a busy summer that included a hubbie home more often, this new blog thingy would fall to the wayside for a bit. But then yesterday I was poking around my pantry and freezer and seeing all the things I bought on sale, or bought to make some dish that still sits in my recipe book. “I *need* to use these things before they go bad” I told myself for the 3456th time.

Then I had an idea.

(I tend to have a lot of ideas, it’s the follow through I lack. But that’s where the blog comes in handy.)

What if, for 1 week, I buy nothing at the grocery store except milk and fresh fruit?

I mean, I know we have enough meats (Hubbie takes care of that) and I have bread mixes for the bread maker. I may even have frozen bread in the freezer downstairs. I have more then enough frozen veggies for a week. Why not?

Well, OK, there are tons of reasons, but most hinge on the perfectionism I’m trying to overcome, so they don’t count.

I debated taking before and after pictures, but I’m a bit embarrassed! But I WILL post what we’ve had for our meals. I think at some point today I’ll have to go through and inventory what I have, and start jotting down ideas so I don’t forget. You know, what’s been happening the past few years!

Today for breakfast I’m knocking back some SlimFast; I had a huge container with enough for about 2 more “breakfast shakes” left, so that should be gone tomorrow. Once the girls are back from Grandma’s, they’ll be in charge of polishing off those 1/2 bags of cereal!

So please, leave a comment with some encouragement! And what’s some way YOU can declutter your pantry?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging Via My Cupboard

  1. C-Joy says:

    Good for you! I need to defrost our chest freezer, but it is so full of stuff that I keep putting it off. It would be good for me to cook only what I have on hand -who knows, maybe I’ll try a week of pantry cooking before school starts again 😀

  2. Pingback: Oh Dear… |

Leave a Reply

