And Another Day Is Here…

Well, I just wasted about an hour of my life watching videos on YouTube of the Castle cast at Comic Con.

I’m not liking wordpress very much yet… can’t figure out how to add buttons, can’t figure out how to change the font, can’t figure out how to put a nice new background I downloaded on… Any advice? Ideas? Should I just move back to blogger? Ah, the decisions…

So the challenge is going well! Yesterday for dinner I finally made my meatball tortellini dish! I used up my bag of frozen California veggies, 20 frozen meatballs, 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, and a package of tortellini. Threw it all in a crockpot for a little over 2 hours on low, and had dinner!

(NOTE: I had used the non-cooked tortellini, and had to precook it. I’m also looking for healthier alternatives to cream of soups. I wish I had been able to keep it going longer, I think 3 hours would have been better.)

Today lunch was a little tricky since I had no bread (couldn’t find the darn bread machine!). Still, dug around and took care of it! To go with dinner I finally attempted to stir fry veggies! Used up a package of frozen veggies and got the bottle of ginger soy sauce out of my cupboard and into the fridge! Oh, and bread machine has been found, loaf is baking as we speak!

This is going so well! I’m trying recipes I’ve wanted to but have been too scared! AND, a letter came through that the local food pantry is running low, so after the week is done I’m going to see what we can take there. I want my pantry cleared out, so that I can start stocking it with good, healthy foods!

This summer has been crazy. I feel as though I’ve had to stop my life to start a new one, and will have to do the same thing in the fall! I’m falling behind on keeping up with friends, which makes me feel awful, too. I know I should enjoy this time for the whole family to be together, and I do, but I have to say I’m looking forward to the routine of fall and school starting!

This challenge is helping. I feel like it’s getting me ready for the fresh start. True, I’ll have 5 weeks left before school starts! But mentally, it’s getting me geared up for it. And when I start the FlyLady Babysteps Challenge again, same thing. (SO, who’s going to join me?!)

A pleasant surprise has been how supportive my dear hubbie has been. I was thinking he would give a little laugh when I told him what I’m doing, but he’s been very encouraging! When I put the bread mix in and mentioned it wouldn’t be done until after 11 (in an apologetic tone) he said “That’s alright, you’re getting it out of the pantry. That’s what your goal is, right?” LOVE THE MAN! I may even let him in on the FlyLady Challenge, see if he can help me stay on track! (He doesn’t understand the sink thing though…)

So, there you have my ramble for the day! What do you think? Is your summer any different for you?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

