Friday Fly #2 – What’s for Dinner?

So, a lovely lady I met via Twitter has started these cool Friday things where she names a FlyLady topic and people can blog about it. We link up after so we can how others are doing!

This time it’s about menu planning. Ah, menu planning. Dear, dear menu planning…

OK, here are my challenges:

– Hubbie is a carnivore. He loves meat. Anything else is rather secondary. He’ll eat bread, potatoes, pasta, corn, lettuce, peppers and onion. Oh, and popcorn and pickles. He also does not like things mixed up. However, I’m giving up trying to always prepare side dishes he will eat!

– Hubbie loves leftovers. (I do not. Just sayin’.) He has agreed to tone down the amount he grills though!

– Different things go on different nights, so the Pasta Monday, Chicken Tuesday thing? Not going to happen.

I will say that when we DO sit down and menu plan, and then actually FOLLOW it, it’s nice! So let’s try it this week!

What we decided:

MONDAY – We will be out with Hubbie’s parents, so we’re bringing out marinated chicken breasts to grill. Also, we’ll saute some veggies on the stove, and possibly do some garlic bread.

TUESDAY – Enjoying the nice weather with some burgers!! I’m thinking sweet potato fries, and peppers with dip.

WEDNESDAY – Hubbie won’t be here for dinner, so I am trying THIS stuffed shell recipe a friend posted!

THURSDAY – Meat is up-in-the-air right now, possibly leftovers with some sausage to add in there. But I have some couscous I want to try! (I’ve used the mix, but want to do it myself this time. I’m going to need to investigate how to dress it up a bit.) Also, I’m thinking steamed broccoli with shredded cheddar.

FRIDAY – Busy night, so leftovers!

And how will we get this all done? Well, I’m trying to focus on using what I have, for one (I enjoy buying things ahead utilizing sales/coupons)! Also, I’m going to have a list made out tomorrow morning so I can do what little shopping I need (mostly for the stuffed shells) on Tuesday. (I try to plan a fun visit early in the week to the next town over where there is a nice grocery store!)

Once I get better about dinner plans, something I would LOVE to do is better plan our other meals. I do have a list for things to pack my girls for lunch, and I would like one similar for me! And of course, one for breakfast.

But for now… BABYSTEPS! I’ll check in at the end of the week and let you know how it goes! And be sure to visit HERE to read about other ideas!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Fly #2 – What’s for Dinner?

  1. Cari S. says:

    Hello πŸ™‚

    I tried subscribing to the RSS feed so that it shows up in my Reader, but a bunch of html is the only thing that came up. Can you add a Google Friend Connect thing on here?

  2. Kris J. says:

    Glad you are trying the stuffed shells recipe! Just make sure you get CHOPPED broccoli (and not florets, like J. did and had to run back to the store – LOL). The store band has chopped… just sayin’

    I need to plan for breakfast better… 9 times out of 10 the poor kids are having breakfast at school (where they get maybe 10 minutes to eat 😦 bad mama). Let me know how it goes for you!

    • Thanks for reminding me!!! πŸ˜€

      We’ll fight the breakfast battle together! I’ve started by making some homemade muffin mixes so that – in theory – I can whip up some fresh muffins for them…. just need to be better about the execution of that! I try to add some protein like cheese or an egg (I discovered they won’t eat the yolk in a hardboiled egg, but will down deviled eggs like nobody’s business!!!). Throw in fruit and set! In theory…

  3. mommylebron says:

    Hey! I’ll be working on breakfast now too. Especially since I’m home with the Girl Minion. πŸ˜‰ Can you share some of those muffin mix recipes? I bake lots of muffins but I’m still working from mixes. Thanks for linking up!
    And btw, unfortunately we cannot add a Google Friend Connect on here. I have a link on my page that sends readers to my Blogger page where they can follow via GFC. My theory is that once I go to self hosted *then* I can move the GFC widget.

    • Honestly, the muffin mix sounds harder then it is! I just found a recipe and dumped all the dry ingrediants together in a ziploc bag. Then I printed out the recipe on a large label and stuck it to the bag. (In hindsight, I should have highlighted the “wet” ingrediants to make it easier!) I tried to find recipes with few “wet” things; they all were just milk, eggs, and oil. (Well, one had lemon juice!)

      Thanks for clearing that up, I tried to read up on it and just got confused! I’m a little unclear about this RSS thing… I really need to learn more! I think I may check out the “Blogging For Dummies” book or something!

Leave a Reply

