Babysteps… Again!

Babystepping my way back to The Journey Into Perfectionist Blogging….

Here is something I wrote in to the FlyLady crew, and the response I got back!

More to come soon!

Subject: The Voices!

It’s not too often you can write a testimonial about the voices in your head… tee hee!

I’m a FlyBaby, just pecking out of her shell. I won’t go on about my failed attempts – erm, “engine revving”! Slowly but surely I’ll get there, but that’s another story…

What this is about is your audio book. Now, I own a perfectly (!) good copy of “Sink Reflections”. I’ve read it whole, I’ve read bits. So for the longest time I have resisted purchasing your audio copy. I could not justify spending money on a book when I had it!!.

Well finally, I did it. I have no idea what possessed me to do it but I did! Then, with some help from Kathy and FlyDude Lee, I put it on my player! I was so excited, even listening to the introduction was inspiring!!

That very day, after I had listened to the introduction and some of the first chapter, I got an email from my mother talking about my aunt. Looooong story short, she talked in the email about the “common sense” of taking care of a house, how it’s not that difficult, just DO IT, etc etc. And I heard it all again. The lectures on how “easy” it was, why couldn’t I do it? How I was lazy, a slob, my room was a pigsty. It hurt then and it still hurts now… Oh dang these purple puddles…

But you know what I could do Marla? I could push that voice out. I’m not quite where I can replace it with my own yet, but now, I could replace it with YOU. YOU, who tell me I *can* do anything, You understand how I work, and you don’t want to change that. You want to help ME (not some “perfected” version of me) love MYSELF. I can’t tell you how… *different* it is! What a wonderful change of pace!!

I’m blessed with a (SHE!) husband, who also loves me how I am. But still, I want to bless him and my 3 wonderful children, and most importantly NOT make my kids feel like I did. Your book has gotten me to one level, now I feel like your voice can help me move on to the next.

THANK YOU (and your FlyTeam!) for all they do!

Response:

Dear FlyBaby,

We are so very grateful that our dear FlyLady and her wonderful loving voice is becoming the voice you have in your head.

Please forgive your mother for not understanding how to better communicate with you.

You are part of our Fly Family and we are very proud of you.

{{Hugs}}
FlyLady Katie

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Babysteps… Again!

  1. mommylebron says:

    It’s funny, as the new year is quickly approaching I feel myself re-baby stepping. This is gonna be the year I get my act together for sure. lol I realize I am always growing (and flying)! Progress not perfection! Having the support of other Flybabies helps so much too!

  2. AGREED! Reading about other people dealing with (and overcoming!) the same issues I have makes me feel more… normal, I guess! And yes, I love love LOVE the thought of a new year, and am trying to make the preparation now to start it off as smoothly as possible. One goal I have is to get enough decluttering done that I can start the missions, and I’m doing great, if I do say so!

    Thanks!

  3. Maaike Quinn says:

    Hi there! I love FlyLady too, she is such a positive woman. She really changed the way I perceive life 🙂
    By the way, I have a blog about FlyLady myself as well. You are more than welcome to pay a visit. Maybe we can cheer each other on 🙂

    • I signed up for it this morning!! It’s so wonderful to have the companionship on this journey! I love the fact that you’re doing the Babysteps… that’s where I’m hoping to start soon!

      Thanks!

      • maaikequinn says:

        Hello again! Did you start yet? Today was my day 16 :). I just love the positivity that FlyLady is spreading around. By the way, I moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress, so you might not get the updates anymore. But you can still find me at http://www.lifewithflylady.com

        Blessings!

  4. I’ve been a flybaby for over 8 years and I’m still learning. It’s an ongoing process the same as the journey through life is ongoing. One of the greatest gifts I got from Flylady was the courage to start my own website and blog on organizing. It’s also an ongoing process. Let me know if I can help in any way.

Leave a Reply

