Method To My Madness

So, it’s been awhile.

OK, a long while!

Alright, fine, a VERY LONG WHILE!

So, did you miss me? (Totally imagine a cheesy grinning smiley here.)

There actually is a reason for the pause. Well, the last 13 days of it, anyway!

I did NOT want to start blogging again on January 1st, or any date too close to it. Why? Because then in my warped, perfectionist brain, it would feel like I started it as a new year resolution. And I didn’t.

My two goals for this year are simple. The first is NOT to flip out (too much) at the CHAOS that is my life, and not to get discouraged and down on myself when I slide back and regress. Actually, that part isn’t coming along too bad!

The second… well, it’s a bit more… intense.

A little over 2 years I go I was “unofficially” diagnosed with ADD/ADHD/whatever letters they are currently using. I was in counseling following a horrific car accident, and it was more of a side thing.

I have pretty much sat on this information since then.

Well, not completely. I would take online tests, that would come out with “Print out these results and RUN THEM TO YOUR DOCTOR NOW FOR PETE’S SAKE WOMAN!” I did a bit of reading (and crying as I realized that I was basically reading about my childhood and current situation). But as far as acting on the information… that was a toughie.

On the one hand, I feel relief. It’s not a character flaw!!! I’m not the lazy, irresponsible pig/slob I’ve been told I was for 2/3 of my life!! WHEW!

On the other hand… dang. There’s actually something medically wrong with me. I mean, I can’t just wake up and decide to be focused and organized. Physically, I just can’t do that.

So, I finally met with a woman who is ADD and on meds, and after chatting with her, decided to do it. To get moving on this. I have an appointment with my general doc on Monday. I have NO IDEA where this will lead. Psychologists, psychiatrists, counselors… books, herbs, meds… I just don’t know.

Best Case Scenario: I work with my doc and a counselor of some sort to use natural remedies (herbs, oils, supplements) to slowly make improvements in my life.

Second Best Case Scenario: I need to be on some meds for a year, in that time working hard with my doc and a counselor of some sort to use natural remedies (herbs, oils, supplements) to make improvements in my life, then wean off the meds (accepting some possible regression) to make improvements in my life.

Third Best Case Scenario: I discover that I can’t just work with my doc and a counselor of some sort to use natural remedies (herbs, oils, supplements) and need to be on meds for, like, a long time.

Worst Case Scenario: I really am a lazy irresponsible pig/slob.

So… yup. That’s me.

Quick FlyLady update: I’m just focusing on the shiny sink this month, as well as decluttering. BABYSTEPS!

So, what about all of you?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Method To My Madness

  1. Kris J. says:

    I’ll be thinking about you while you are at your appt Monday – good luck! I know the “defeat” (for lack of a better word) of accepting to need to take long term medication (only mine, is for life). I hope whatever your Doctors figure out, you are able to work with it, for YOU. It’s your life, you deserve to live it and be happy

    (hmmm, maybe i should actually blog in my own blog, huh?)

  2. mommylebron says:

    You wanna know a secret? Based on research, experience, personal knowledge and the fact that I’m raising three kids with ADHD; I am about 98% sure I have it too. But you are far more ahead because you have a plan. I’m still mostly in denial. I do know that Omega 3 is highly recommended and I use it for my kids. I’m glad to see you back (and yay for my button over there!) If you want to make your own check out picnik.com. That’s where I make everything. But adding your grabbable button is tricky so let me know when you’re ready and I will try to help!

  3. Kris – YES!! Start that blog back up baby!!

    Oh my dearie mommy… I know Omega 3 is good too but guess what? I’m too ADD to remember to take it!!! HA!!! Yeah, I think I’m finally past denial and into grieving. Had some anger there but I think there’s more of that to come…

    Once I’m more regular about blogging, I’ll be comfortable with creating a button, and then I’ll be asking for help!! THANKS!

  4. Pingback: I’ve Stalled, But I’ll Be Moving Again Soon |

Leave a Reply

