Getting Answers Part I

Well, I did it! I went to see a psychologist about possible ADD on my part.

Problem was, nobody told me this was a two part deal.

OK, to the beginning. After a few weeks of nervous wrecky-ness on my part, I finally went to see the counselor. I went into his office full of birds, mind puzzles, comic books and jazz and waited to begin my journey.

I had went over what I wanted to say multiple times (read: over 300) in my head, and had most of it written down (thanks to a nightmare I had that involved me trying to talk to him about things and forgetting and him being upset at me. I digress.). THAT is what I expected! But, it turns out, that’s for NEXT time (the 28th). So now I have even more time to get all nuts about it!

So what did I do for 2 hours? Testing. Like, IQ-y things. Like, turn-your-brain-to-mush type things.

It was fascinating, and mostly fun. One interesting point is that things I’ve done before with a friend and totally rocked on, I bombed out on here. (For instance, the person only saying part of a word, and me saying the whole word. But then, I did notice that he spoke differently, for instance said more “cep” then the traditional “cAp” that I’m used to. But I digress. Again.)

At one point during the exam, he mentioned that I used a lot of the techniques that he taught. I didn’t ask for specifics, but I think he meant things like closing my eyes. Then, at the end, he mentioned that I was coping very well. I got a little panicky!! I answered that yes, I thought I did pretty well, but I also felt as though I was just trending water! He didn’t seem too surprised by that comment…

He did notice that things that took multiple steps was difficult for me. (Um, YES!) Early on in the testing (I believe the first one!) I asked if it was OK if he turned his music off. He seemed very surprised by that request and did turn it down, although it was still there.

All in all, I feel pretty positive. While I don’t have any answers yet, I think I was on the right track; he made a comment to the effect (affect?) that (and I paraphrase here) ‘ there is something there’. And he did mention he thought maybe it was more of an AD*H*D situation. So I’m just holding on hope that he’ll have some answers, and we can work together for some solutions!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Answers Part I

  1. Kris J. says:

    i am glad, proud, that you went! I hope the 28th turns up even more answers for you then this appointment did.
    *hugs*

  2. Thanks!! Hey, you and I are getting pretty good at taking care of ourselves!! Now if only I could rock the healthy eating (and soon, the exercising!!!) like you do!!!

  3. mommylebron says:

    I’m so glad you’ve got this step done! It’ll get easier each time. Now that you’ve had face time you needn’t worry about that!
    ((hugs))

  4. Pingback: I’ve Stalled, But I’ll Be Moving Again Soon |

Leave a Reply

