You’re WRONG! Wait…What?!

Yesterday was a big day! I met with Dr. S for the first time since starting on the meds. I have to admit… I went in ready to be on the defense. I was expecting some clashes over our respective visions of the future.

***** SIDE NOTE *****

Eldest was sick. Babysitter couldn’t come. Ended up bring both with me. (Eldest daughter, 8 and youngest – my boy – 3. I need “Blog names” for them and my other daughter, 6. How about Whiney, Screachy, and Yelly. No?) Thought it would be a disaster. They. Were. Awesome.

***** END OF SIDE NOTE *****

First off, he agreed to the low dosage. (Since he orignally wanted me STARTING at double this dose, I had to have smelling salts after I fainted was pleasantly surprised.)

He was… almost… impressed? I’m trying to describe it. He told me how patient, motivated, and hard working I was! (Yup, first time in 32 years THOSE words have been used to describe me! I looked shocked and he added with a smile, “On the meds”.) He said most people would be just wanting more drugs so it would be easier. (Dude, I never said I didn’t WANT them, just that I didn’t think I NEEDED them!) He also noticed how I’m getting such a large EMOTIONAL benefit from it! Um, yeah. This starting not to hate myself? REALLY. COOL.

My other concern was his opinion on me staying at home with my darlings. His previous comments (both to me and written in his report) led me to believe he wasn’t happy about that. But it ended up not being an issue at all! Yes, he did talk/HIGHLY encourage me to make sure I’m out there, taking classes (he was thinking auditing college courses, I was thinking a photography class. Meh. Details.) and just overall making sure I had ME time and some mental stimulation. (Doesn’t every mom want that? Don’t most moms NOT get that?) We talked about future plans (he encourages me to up the dose when I start back to school; I didn’t mention I would love to be OFF them by then. Meh. Details.)

My one disappointment was that I kind of wanted advice and ideas on how to utilize my new found focus. He offered up some book ideas, which was nice. (The first one was ADHD for Dummies. Later, I was writing them down and asked “Which book did you say? For dummies or an idiot’s guide? Am I a dummy or an idiot?!”) I wouldn’t have minded more to go with (some goals, maybe a “homework assignment”) but I’m not going to worry about it.

SO, there we go. A lot of my ADHD journey drama is coming to an end, and the good stuff is yet to come! I look forward to using this blog for more then just babbling about this, but help me out please! If you read this, please tell me what you like/don’t like/want to see more/less of. I’m having fun with this (well, not the design part, that’s making me cranky) but want some new and fresh ideas!

Thanks again for reading!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in ADD/ADHD. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You’re WRONG! Wait…What?!

  1. Ffawd says:

    I’d like to see any other design, since I think this is the one I’m using on mine! *lol* Never mind, I’m pretty sure I’m going to change my banner (to another they offer).

    I just want to hear more about everything. As for the kittens, just use their first initial. Of course, you could just call your son “the boy.” You could also go with Elder, Middle, and Youngin.

    I really like first initial, though, because I can fill it in with my own name. A female with a name that starts with E? People could think Emily, Elizabeth, Emma, etc. Or if the name was actually Elizabeth, she could be called L if she goes by Liz. Then people would be thinking things like Lisa, Lilly, Lorraine, you get the point.

    I’m really trying to figure out how I don’t break The Twitter when I’m so wordy all the time. 😉

    • Hey, great minds think alike!! (I didn’t know you had a blog!!)

      I think I did find some good names that work for the darlings… Can’t wait to type a little “Intro” post about them!

      Hee hee, yup, you do have some great comments; Twitter is just too restraining for you!!

      Thanks!

  2. Ffawd says:

    I have no idea how to reply to a comment on here, apparently. I can’t wait to read your intro about the kits!

    I’ve written over the past year, but I haven’t posted anything to my blog in a long time. In fact, I set it up, posted a couple times, and got busy preparing to move. It fell by the wayside, unfortunately. I’m working on getting back to writing things I *can* post in addition to the private writing I’ve been doing.

  3. Wow… that’s so great that you write! It can be sooo therapeutic! I’m loving that now, with my meds, it’s not so overwhelming for me to write. While I’m not moving on it yet, I feel like maybe – just maybe! – I could write a book (or 10!) someday! I have some ideas for little kids books, and maybe possibly one on ADHD and the Stay At Home Mom!!

  4. HDogg says:

    Just catching up on these, sorry about the long silence. Much has been going on over here. Just wanted to interject- I’m a big fan of research for mental stimulation as well (and also writing is mental stimulation!). Maybe learn a language? Rosetta stones are pricey but totally cool. The kids are getting old enough to understand “class time” at home if you block out a part of the day. 🙂

  5. Hello my dearie dear!

    I would truly love to do the “mental stimulation” thing… but it’s such a crazy cycle. I need to get caught up on “life” things before doing extras… but doing the extras may help me catch up with life. Soooo… yeah!

    As I get a better grip on time management and focusing, I think I”ll be able to do more. For instance, I want to do more research on AD/HD, continue knitting, and work on sign language and playing my guitar (6 chords is nice but… yeah, time to up that). I’m curious to see how different it will be now on meds!

  6. Pingback: I’ve Stalled, But I’ll Be Moving Again Soon |

Leave a Reply

