Days 1 – 5

That’s right… I’m back, and Babystepping(ish) too!!

It’s Day 6. And…. Ummm… it’s 8:35AM and I’m still in my Jammies. But I wanted to get out a quick blog post because it’s been WAY too long!

OK, for this one, just a quick update on my house and the Babysteps.

HOUSE: It had been doing so well!! But 2 weeks of rearranging 2 rooms with new furniture, all 5 of us getting sick at least once, and me prepping for a local consignment sale really took its toll… BIG TIME. I’m proud to say (immensely proud, actually!) that I didn’t get super overwhelmed or throw in the towel. It took awhile but I’m starting to get it back on track. And yup, that included starting FLYlady’s BabySteps… AGAIN!!

I’ve had 2 “bad” days… just tired and out of it BIG TIME. Thankfully, it could have been a lot worse but I was taking my meds, so it didn’t interfere too horribly. I’m not giving up though, just plugging through! It’s too easy to say “Oh, well, I didn’t get dressed yet and it’s 10, so I should just not worry about the Babysteps.” NO! I need to GO, get dressed, and keep it up!

So, here is what I did yesterday, Day 5. I will say, if you go back to last time I did this, I think there is a difference in how I’m talking to myself! It’s not nearly as mean!

Here you go again…. How many times are we going to try this?
As many times as it takes to do it!

Ha. It’s Day 5 and you’re already screwing up. Just stop and try again later.
Nope. I can still keep going. No reason to stop, I can just hop right back on!

OH geez… You had the house so good and look what happened. Just like the last time.
Yup, life got a bit out of control and so did the house. But at least I know it won’t take too long to get it back to where it can be!

Why bother? You’ll still have all DH’s clutter.

Maybe… but at least I can get my area and the general house area decluttered. I have to start somewhere, why not with myself?

Why this month? It’s not convenient, try again in July.
Blast “Why Not Today?” from the Flylady CD!!!

So there you have it! I’m going on with this! And now, it’s past my time to go get dressed to shoes and get moving. Today’s Babystep is 2 minutes on Hot Spot… Oh, so many to choose from!! 🙂

I hope you all are having a wonderful day!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Days 1 – 5

  1. mommylebron says:

    Yay! I’m here babystepping too! I need to find my center!

    • Lisa says:

      Woo hoo!!!

      I’m sliding off the wagon but holding on to a thin leather strap that’s trailing behind… hoping to pull myself up…. 😀 WE CAN DO THIS!

  2. C-Joy says:

    Go You!!! It sounds like you are on the right track 🙂
    I need to re-babystep too! I’ve been focusing on BBR this week -not the official 1st step, but it has made leaving the house so much easier. I don’t necessarily enjoy doing everything at the end of the day when I’m tired from a long day’s work, but I’ve been telling myself “You know you will appreciate having it done tomorrow morning!” One thing we’ve been learning with our Conscious Discipline study at school is replacing the word “should” with “could” when we talk to ourselves. It is better for our self-esteem when we give ourselves choices: “I could make lunches for tomorrow, or I could do them tomorrow”. Less reason to beat ourselves up for not doing what we “should” 😀

    • I *totally* agree, I think the BBR makes the biggest difference. I think I once did a blog post about how THAT is the key! To start the day with a tidied house, clothes at the ready…. It’s a HUGE thing!
      I’m sooo interested in that Conscious Discipline… I need to recheck our library system, thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

