This Is Almost Funny.

Almost.

But not quite.

OK, to start, we have some company coming on June 8th. I knew I had 6 days to clean 3 bedrooms, a dining room, living room, kitchen, bathroom, hallway, foyer, another smaller hallway, and a playroom. (That makes my house sound huge. It’s not. It’s decent sized, but not huge!)

And also, we had some major gardening to do. Find a way to control our raspberries, veggies and flowers to plant, weeding, mowing, etc. Oh, and hubbie is going to paint the deck.

Alright, we could do that… It would be anything but easy, but doable, right?

RIGHT?!

So late tonight hubbie comes up, with a super worried look on his face. That right there? Bad sign. He very very rarely has that face. “Honey, I need you. I need you to come here. I need you to come with me. I have to show you something.”

Panic Level at orange.

Of course I immediately got up and started following him. “Is it a good thing?!” I ask. (Hey, I’m nothing if not hopeful.)

“No.”

Oh crud.

Panic Level at red.

He leads me to our garage.

OK timeout here to let you know our 1 car (SMALL car) garage is a dumping zone. I am not proud. I seriously don’t go in it anymore. Poor hubbie claims it’s his so I let him have it, but hubbie is a SHE through and through and… well… It’s BAD.

So I knew it could not be good.

Before we go in he gets out “There’s water damage”. Honestly, I started to relax. I was almost excited. Yeah! A reason to throw stuff out!!!

Yeah. No.

He meant on the ceiling.

As in there was a huge bulge that was dripping water.

Because really? I needed something to do this week.

On the plus side (because I’m nothing else if not a hopeful eternal optimist) DANG did we get through a lot! You know those massive lawn and garden bags? We have 4 of them CRAMMED full of stuff for Goodwill! We have 1 filled to the brim with garbage. (On top of a regular garbage bag and a box.)

Does it look good? Oh haaaaaaayl no. BUT, I would only faint of devastation if someone came in, not die.

So, the plan is tomorrow to get the garden and foyer done, and work some more in the garage. The heat on Tuesday will be unbearable, so DS and I will hang out downstairs in the playroom/hall area and work on that. Of course, we’ll also call the plumber that day. Wednesday I’ll HOPEFULLY have a babysitter to watch DS, so I’ll focus on my bedroom, and probably be ready to call in a contractor to check out the damages. Then Thursday work on the kids’ rooms and the living room (putting up some decor and our giant hotspot). That leaves Friday and Saturday to finish up all the things that I didn’t get to.

What could possibly go wrong?!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This Is Almost Funny.

  1. Amanda says:

    I read “contractor” as “chiropractor”. I think after this, you should call both. Good luck to you!

  2. Cwningen_ says:

    Aw, crap! That’s an awful mess at the wrong time. I’m so sorry. 😦

    I’m about to DM you my email address through Twitter so you can keep in touch if you have time. Crap! Crap! Crap!

    • I just keep telling myself that in the grand scheme of things? This is doable. Ish. <:-S

      Thank you so much!!

      • Cwningen_ says:

        It’s totally doable! You’ve got Fly Lady, a great family, those new meds, etc. You’ve really been getting things under control lately!

  3. C-Joy says:

    I’m going to go all Conscious Discipline on you and say just remember to BREATHE & repeat the magic mantra: I am safe, I can get through this. 😀

    • Ha ha ha! I need to stay conscious, and I need to stay disciplined! That’s funny because I am reminding myself to breathe (a lot) and I keep saying “We can do this! We can do this. Right?”

  4. ~Kris says:

    oh no! 😦 but i totally feel your pain (as water was literally pouring in through my kitchen ceiling during last nights rain storm).
    As the above said – BREATH, and if your company can’t accept that with 3 kids that a house won’t look like a picture from Home and Garden, is it really worth it all in the end?
    And i have alcohol free wine, and can bake cookies, just sayin’
    *hugs* love ya

    • Oh yuck! Problem is, we’re the ones financially responsible for this. And since above our garage is a bedroom and bathroom? That’s not good!

      And we just have a lot of clutter to get rid of. The foyer just got bad and this time around we have to do the playroom too, that just adds more stress then usual.

      Hee hee, I’ll just take some water in a wine glass, and ANYTHING you bake!!! 8-D

  5. mommylebron says:

    Oh wow! You know what’s great though, it sounds like through all this you are keeping your spirits up. What was leaking? ((hugs))

    • Thanks!! I’m really really REALLY trying! If I keep busy, I forget about WHY I’m going on such a tear cleaning!

      I’ll be calling the contractor tomorrow, hopefully he’ll know… 😛

Leave a Reply

