Jumping Back On My Breastfeeding Soapbox

Sigh.

Alright, as you may have read HERE, I breastfed my kiddos. What you also read is that I am a believer in education and support for ALL moms, no matter how they nourish their children. I just personally think a lot of women out there – if given all of the information and support – would choose to breastfeed, and do so longer.

But again, I support all moms.

Which is more then you can say for some people.

The stories are disturbingly frequent: mothers getting their milk taken away from them, mothers not being able to nurse in schools… but I’m just going to mention a couple.

HERE is your cut and dry story of ‘mother is breastfeeding and told to leave’. Here’s the thing people: whether you like it or not, IT’S THE LAW. I’m really and truly sorry if it offends you but YOU ARE BOUND BY THE LAW to let her feed her child.

We all do things we don’t want to because it’s the law. Personally, I can think of an intersection near here with a “No Right On Red” sign that I think is silly. But do I turn there when the light is red? No. Why? Because it’s the law.

Of course, we do live in America. So if you don’t like a law, you can lobby to get it reversed or modified. Which sadly, some people did.

Yes, that’s right, nursing your child after the age of 2 is illegal in Forest Park. In the interest of “public decency”.

Do me a favor, will you? Which one of these would you label as more “indecent”:

Me, nursing my over 24 month old son.

Found easily by googling "Victoria Secret"

Look, I could go on and on (and on) about how awesome I feel breastfeeding is. I can tell you how it IS the normal thing for us to do. I could tell you a zillion disadvantages of formula.

But instead, I’m asking for us to follow the law have a little decency. If you notice a mom nursing her child and it makes you uncomfortable then look away. Trust me, if they knew you were watching, it would make them even more uncomfortable then you are.

And if you see a mom nursing and it doesn’t phase you, give her a little smile. Maybe a thumbs up. Because can’t we all use a little support?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jumping Back On My Breastfeeding Soapbox

  1. Kristin says:

    PREACH IT. Breast is best. Can’t argue with science so why can’t people just let us nurse our babies in peace?

    Breastfeeding and have a cold? Find out what you can take.

  2. Cwningen says:

    It’s federal law to allow breastfeeding in public, at least as I understand it. That means that the law they made is unenforceable. It doesn’t mean they won’t do it *anyway,* but it shows how perverted their minds are and gives the mother a good chance in court.

  3. I am glad that you brought this to light more. You know it is insane that there are even people out there that think Breastfeeding is indecent

  4. Pingback: Oh Dear… |

Leave a Reply

