50 Perfectionist Things For This Summer

Have you noticed I have a new little tagline on the blog? At the top. It reads:

A Journey Into Perfectionist Blogging

Really, this is.

Take for instance Mama Kat’s (pretty much world famous) Writing Workshop. One of the prompts is Create a bucket list of 50 things you want to do this summer (with or without the kids!)

Sounds easy, right?

Ha. You apparently are not an extreme perfectionist.

Should it be silly or serious? Things I can quantify or general statements? Should I group this in categories?

And not just passing thoughts, either. A serious worry.

So in an effort to get over it, here it is!

50 THINGS I HOPE TO ACCOMPLISH DURING THE SUMMER OF 2011

1. Help DD8 (Mini Me) get her multiplication facts down solid.
2. Keep DD6’s (Blue Eyes) love of reading and writing burning bright.
3. Try to keep DD3 (The Boy) from breaking any bones or needing stitches.
4. Help both kids and I get simple yet effective morning/evening routines down pat.
5. Teach the girls how to do laundry.

6. Go to the beach. Which I hate. But the kids love.
7. Go to a local amusement park. Which I hate. But the kids love.
8. Have the kiddos pick some fun library programs to do.
9. Gather (and do) ideas for fun, educational activities.
10. Gather (and do) ideas for crafts.

11. Make a list of my “required reading” and set aside time EACH day to read, even if it’s just for 5 minutes.
12. Plan out my Mommy & Tot classes. WITHOUT getting overwhelmed. Much.
13. Knit more.
14. Actually FINISH a knitting project.
15. Relearn the few basic guitar chords I knew. Learn some new ones.

16. Sew the girls’ curtains.
17. Paint the girls’ room.
18. Get rid of the clutter in the kitchen cupboards.
19. Work with Hubbie to clean out the garage.
20. Work with Hubbie to get his den cleared out.

21. Go splashing in rain puddles with the kids.
22. Laugh hysterically if I ever think about attempting another “bucket list”.
23. Try to limit the amount of hats I buy (and lose) for the kids.
24. Remember to check for (fitting) water shoes before a trip to a place with water.
25. Finish “Easy To Love, Difficult To Discipline” and start using the principles regularly.

26.Talk to the doc about the meds, and how to make them work best for me.
27. Walk! By myself, with a friend, with family… Just get out there!
28. Lose 5-10 (of the 40 I need to) pounds.
29. Have the girls pick 1 recipe a week to make with me.
30. Work on my flossing habit. Or lack thereof.

31. Remember to wear the extra protective gloves when working by the prickly bushes.
32. Not yell too loudly when I forget.
33. Keep garden semi weeded, enough so that I can –
34. Harvest fruits and veggies from my garden.
35. Grill up marinated portabella mushrooms.

36. Keep up with the blog (I’m shooting for 3-4 posts a week).
37. Go through and tag my posts.
38. Organize my internet bookmarks.
39. Get (and keep!) my inboxes cleared out. Ish. That means unsubscribing to things!
40. Go through files from the old computer and dump what I can.

41. Make sure Hubbie has some relaxing time.
42. Get our weekly “date night” (at home) back up and going. It’s not just for when “Survivor” is on!
43. Get SIL over as often as possible before she leaves for Grad School.
44. Pack up a lunch and go for a hike on a trail.
45. Make an effort to get together with my friend who signs, to have an “ASL only” conversation.

46. Give my kids more hugs.
47. Give my kids more kisses.
48. Oh heck, give Hubbie more hugs and kisses too!
49. Be gentle and patient with myself.
50. Be more aware – and thereby grateful – for the love I have in my life, and be sure to shine that back to others.

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 Perfectionist Things For This Summer

  1. Pingback: So, How Is That Going For Ya? |

Leave a Reply

