Yeah, That!

So, I read a blog by Life With Levi… it turns out I’m not the only one taking a bit of a techy break!

Here’s the thing: It’s summer. Hubbie is home a lot more. All three kids are home full time.

In other words, I don’t have the luxury of more then 5.9 seconds sitting at a computer.

OK, slight exaggeration. But the fact is that the summer has lots of great family time for me! And my perfectionism got in the way because I felt I had to either read EVERYTHING that I was connected to, or it wasn’t “right”.

So here’s what I’m going with:

TWITTER – I follow too many people right now. But not all of them are people people. I was having fun following celebrities and groups and companies… TOO MUCH! I went through and got rid of a bunch of them, and just left real live people I could relate to or learn from. Now, I’m trying to get back into the habit, but if I have to miss a day or two (or three!) I’ll just deal! Maybe in the fall I’ll go back and start a separate account for “famous tweeple” and what not, but right now I have better things to do then see what Nathan Fillion is up to. (OK, fine, I did keep him on, but you get my point!)

FACEBOOK – Same as above. I had some great friends, and it was wonderful to keep in touch with all my out of town friends and family, but soon I couldn’t find the kids I babysat in my feed because it was crammed somewhere in with PBS and Castle and Breastfeeding USA and what not. I’ve hidden a lot of them, but I’m also getting excited about….

GOOGLE+ – OK. They’re cool. I could get used to them. You can put people in various “circles”; for instance, I have one for people I want to let know about blog updates. I wouldn’t dream of updating on Facebook! Plus, no games or horoscopes or whatnot clogging my screen!

EMAIL – This sound like a silly one but it’s gotten out of control!! I need to start deleting newsletters and coupons and whatnot.

THE BLOG – Man that looks like the name of a horror movie… ANYways… When I was overwhelmed I really debated if I should keep this up. I still feel like I flittering around looking for it’s purpose, but you know what? I kind of like doing this! Plus, I’m still hoping that I can do a review for you! (Just waiting to get the product in!) So for now, don’t worry, I’ll keep this up! (I hear the collective sigh of relief right now… HA!)

How do you do it? How do you find a balance between real life and all the social media out there? Any suggestions?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

