Boy Was I Wrong!

OK, brutal honestly here.

I was jealous.

Of moms who work outside the home.

Horribly.

Some of my fellow SAHM’s would be at the playground playing defense to keep the kids from wandering while dealing with screeches about bugs, hot slides and “mean kids” (usually a sibling) and try to keep ants off snacks and water bottles from tipping and have shouted conversations with each other that went something like:

“Geez I wish I was in an air conditioned office today!”

“I know! I could have food without shar- SUZIE WE GO DOWN THE SLIDE NOT UP – ing it with people under the age of 5.”

“Tell me about it! And have the bat – JOHNNIE! I WILL NOT TAKE YOU TO HOSPITAL IF YOU JUMP FROM THERE AND YOU’LL WALK AROUND WITH A BROKEN ARM FOR 15 YEARS!” – hroom door stay closed when you go!”

“And a conversation. A whole conversation with out having to de – SALLY YOUR SISTER IS NOT A STEPSTOOL – al with interruptions.”

“Oh, and a clean house!!! You would come home and the house would be cl – HARRY!!! THE BUSHES ARE NOT YOUR PRIVATE BATHROOM!!!! – ean because they were gone all day!!!”

Here we would all mutter in agreement as we pried our kids off each other/ant laden logs and commiserated about the state of our houses.

Well I am here to tell you, I was wrong.

About the house thing. I doubt they have to share their food.

The other week we had too much planned. All 3 kids had science camp in the city (a 40 minute drive), on 2 of the 5 days the girls started soccer in the evening, and on 1 of those, we were visiting my inlaws, on the other side of the city.

So, we left the house by 8:15 home around 5. Two of those days we had to be out the door by 5:45 again.

Let me tell you, my house was trashed.

In the mornings, there was breakfast and packing lunches for hubbie, myself, and Little Man. Doing hair, grabbing water bottles… we never perfected the doing dishes/tidying before heading out.

The one day we went to the inlaws, we didn’t get home until bedtime. Hubbie and I were wiped. The two days we had soccer we left the dinner dishes and by the time we got back, we were wiped. The two days where we were home at 5 with nowhere to go? You guessed it. Wiped.

I have such a new respect for working moms and dads. I truly do love being home with my kids, just like I know some moms truly love being able to work outside their home. But wow, that small sneak peak into their lives was enough for me.

I’ll take the constantly open bathroom door any day.

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

