Got Ants? This Will Help!

Alright, this is a long time coming, but I’m going to start now!

I was put in touch with Safer®, a leading organic gardening and pest control organization. (More about them at the end of the post.) They were looking for some bloggers to use their products and write up reviews; they’re quite well known in the “organic world” but want to make others aware of their products, too. Long story short, after some great communication with one of their associates, I got a big box of goodies to review!

I don’t know how things are going in your neck of the woods, but the ants (especially the big black ones) have been having a hay day at our place. When I learned I was getting the Ant & Roach killer aerosol (poison free!!) to test, I was beyond thrilled, because you can use it indoors!! (PS It’s on sale right now!!!) It even says “Treat all areas infested with insects. Spray surfaces until wet, paying special attention to cracks, crevices, areas around drains and pipes, around appliances, along baseboards, and any other locations where insects may be hiding.” SWEET!

Well, when I received it, we had the indoor ants under control (with icky traps, I’m hoping to try some of the Safer® ones next, goodness knows I’m ordering more of this ant stuff!). But, my daughter had planted a sunflower outside that was doing great… except that the ants were using it as a buffet.

Since the sunflower is in our veggie garden, I emailed the representative who assured me that it would be OK. Great! And since it was right by some wood that the ants were using for dessert, I thought it would be perfect! True, I’ll now actually have to wash my veggies before we eat them, but that’s a small price to pay.

First off, it smells sooooo much better then I was expecting! That’s an odd thing to type but I was all ready to hold my breath (I had already sent the kids away) and honestly? It was not offending at all! It did indeed have a citrus scent. Yeah!

One thing I noted was that it was hard to avoid skin contact for me. I was getting it up close and in cracks for the wood, and it did get on my fingers a bit. No biggie, next time I’ll just wear gloves.

So, how did it work? Well, that night I noticed there weren’t any ants; I kicked the wood and none came scooting out. But the next day it rained. “Oh, that’s it…” I thought. Next day? The plant was ant free, as was the wood. We are now a full week later and we have yet to see an ant on the sunflower (which continues to grow strong!) OR the wood! (Near where I sprayed, of course there’s still some on the other wood, hence me getting ready to order more!) WOW! I am so impressed with this!

I’m testing two more products out… I can’t wait to tell you about them! Please stop by their website, or look for them in your local garden nursery or ‘weed and feed’ store! Also, leave a question or comment here; I was told that “Most of our products are created from customer suggestions/feedback based on the problems they are facing” so see what they can offer you!


DISCLAIMER: I was not financially compensated for this review; I did however receive the product for free. This is completely MY opinion though; they wanted honest feedback, and I’m giving it to them (and you)!

About Safer®

This seems like a cop-out but I think the best way for you to learn about them is for me to put in some things from my emails with their representative!

“The fact that organic and poison free solutions are all that we do, the environment means a lot to us also. We develop our products to provide you with the effectiveness of synthetic (petroleum based) products, but in a formula that is not harmful to the environment, pets or your family, but still strong enough to eliminate your pests.”

“Organic typically meant more expensive. We really try to fight that stigma and show that organic doesn’t have to cost more and it can work just as well as the synthetic chemicals, but without the harmful residuals (side effects).”

“We might be a corporation but we keep a pretty ‘grassroots’ approach. We actually shy away from showcasing our products in the ‘large’ retailers and focus more on the ‘garden nursery’ type retailers such as local nurseries and ‘weed and feed’ stores (as they are typically called). We do this because we support local gardening and local produce. We encourage our consumers to grow their own fruits/veggies/herbs, and want to show that you do not have to be a gardening or lawn care expert, to be able to make your own produce. Additionally, when you go into a local nursery, you are greeted by someone who understand what it takes to succeed at gardening.”

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Got Ants? This Will Help!

  1. crunchymommy says:

    Very cool. Will check it out!

  2. Andrea G says:

    Sounds great! Do they list all their ingredients? You know some write ‘Natural fragrance’ I can’t be having any of that with our allergies. I have to be careful of even Organic products. Thanks 🙂

    • Hmmm… I didn’t notice on the website, BUT I would recommend contacting them directly. As I said, the person I spoke to was great!! I’m really blown away that I got such a quality at (in my opinion) “regular” price, I really hope you’re able to find something! (Especially for those creepy spiders… YIKES!)

Leave a Reply

