Pssst…. You Wanna See My Homework?

So, I think it went well.

I saw a new counselor yesterday, and I think it’s going to be good. Being the first time there was a lot of her asking and me babbling, but I think it was good. I can talk to her about everything I’m willing to talk about, and I feel like she’s willing to help me, guide me, encourage me towards upping my quality of life.

Plus, she gave homework.

(That’s a good thing.)

I didn’t quite get it when she first described it. Something about a “Miracle Question”. Basically (what I got out of it was) if a miracle happened tomorrow morning, what would the day be like.

Or something like that.

Since I’m mainly there to focus on the ADHD issues, I decided to type up what my goal is. What kind of day would I love to have.

And I’m going to let you in on it!

You’re welcome. 😉

The Day It All Came Together

I woke up a little before the kids. I made some tea and had some time to look over my calendar for the day and relax a bit. Then I started breakfast. Nothing fancy, but having the whole grains/fats/proteins/fruits that make up a good meal for kids. While they eat, I can hop in the shower. (Hmmm… probably not very safe, huh?)

After I get out and get all dressed (to shoes! Love that FlyLady…) I can start making the girls’ lunches for school. The kids get dressed so that as soon as that’s done I can help do up hair. I’ll toss a load in the wash and then relax with them until the bus comes.

After that, I’ll let The Boy watch a video or play in his room while I have my (similarly nutritious) breakfast. I’ll also have some time to check email, plan out the day.

If this is a day where my son goes to preschool, then I would either be teaching my class (being all prepared, of course), running errands (all planned out), helping out in one of the girls’ classrooms (which I wouldn’t miss because I remembered to write it down) or just being at home having ME TIME! If that’s the case, I’ll follow my routine so that the necessities are done and I can spend time knitting, reading, scrapbooking, whatever *I* want without any nagging feeling of “Oh, I really should be doing THIS….”

After he gets back we’ll make lunch and eat together, hearing about his day. After, we’ll play a game, do a craft, or just play for a little while! Then I’ll let him have free time (movie, playing, play dough, whatever he wants) while I get a few more little things done. (This is where I would LOVE to utilize small routines…)

I’m sure we’ll play together again one more time before the girls get home from school… When they do we’ll have a nice snack together at the table and then they’ll start their homework. Since this is my dream world it will go smoothly… I’ll be at the table doing some little educational things with The Boy, or maybe he’ll just sit and read and I’ll do some of my own paperwork. Mini Me will be at her desk, using her timer to help keep her focused and not overwhelmed. Blue Eyes will be either at the table or her desk, wherever she’s more comfortable (she’s going into 1st grade, so it’s still a new thing for her!).

After I’ll let them watch their favorite PBS show (I’ll have to tape it as it’s on right when they get home) while I start getting dinner ready. Then I can work on more things around the house, or have more down time. DH will get home and we’ll have some Family Time, and then dinner together.

After dinner we’ll all clear the table and then anything goes! Games, puzzles, reading, crafts, a walk if the weather is right… Just enjoying each other.

Bedtime Routines make that time go by so smooth… Then snuggling down with The Boy until he’s asleep! After, DH and I can spend our time together before he goes to do work downstairs. Then, I can read, craft…You name it!

It sounds so simple, doesn’t it?! I’ve jotted down how to utilize small morning, after lunch, after school, after dinner, before bed routines (taking not much more then 15 minutes each!) would help me accomplish all the house work type things that need to happen. I don’t think this is too far out of my reach! Now, the question is… how do I make it happen?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

