A Writing Exercise

Mama Kat has a ‘writing exercise’ up and – since my poor blog has been horribly neglected – I decided to give it a quick whirl!

Where I’m From

I am from a book, from Smurfs and She-Ra.

I am from the apartment, the duplex, always different.

I am from the pine trees, Grandma’s flower garden.

I am from Family Picnics before they fell away and dimples in the chin, from -skis and more -skis.

I am from the pleasing of everyone and the need to read minds.

From you should be able to do this and if you can’t do it right don’t do it at all.

I am from Catholic Catholic Catholic, every part of your life. Guilt and if you don’t understand you’re not supposed to.

I’m from Upstate NY and Poland and Germany and Czechoslovakia and even France, platsek and kielbasa.

From the Uncle breaking the glass door twice, the Grandpa pushing a rude aunt’s face into mashed potatoes, and all of them playing baseball with the orphans.

I am from sticky paged photo albums, hard drives on computers, boxes of dusty items in the attic, dreams and nightmares in my heart.

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Writing Exercise

  1. I like it – it gives some insight to where you’re from, from a different angle then the usual.

    in fact this is one i may have to try this one myself after I get home from open house tonight.

Leave a Reply

