Coming Back ABC’s

So much to say… way too much for my ADHD self! I wanted something quick and fun to let you all know (you know, all 2 -I believe- subscribers) how life is going in prep for a (hopefully!) big return some day!

To keep my “brief updates” from going on and on (and on) and overwhelming me before I finish, I chose to just lay out the alphabet and pick a word for each letter, along with a thought or two. So, here we go!

ADHD – Yup, still struggling with it. Still fighting the fight. Not sure I’m getting anywhere, but I’m not giving up!

Books – Because of my “A”, not really getting through ones I want/need… although I *am* polishing off some good fiction!

Children – Oh they’re still there and kicking! It’s so hard figuring out what behavior is ‘a phase’ and what is personality. It doesn’t mean it’s acceptable either way, but still.

DH – Man I love that guy. Seriously, he is so sensitive and supportive and caring. Except when he’s not. Which is thankfully the exception to the rule. 😉

Empty – As in the feeling. Hate it.

Facebook – I really want to figure out a way to get back on it to keep in touch with people, but is it worth it? I just don’t know….

Gratitude – I started a “gratitude journal”. In January. I’ve written it it 4 times. I need to do make that a habit. Stop laughing.

Happiness – I think it can be a bit overrated, don’t you? I mean, sometimes just not being depressed/angry/miserable/insert negative emotion here is enough.

I Statements – They’re really hard to remember to use. But I keep trying! Some of those books I want to read are indeed parenting books, I should make them a higher priority!

January of 2012 is right around the corner!!! This has been one heck of a year…

Kill ‘Em With Kindness – It really can work wonders!

Laughing At Yourself – To quote the Indigo Girls: “You have to laugh at yourself. You’d cry your eyes out if you didn’t”. Or, on a happier (overrated?) note: “Blessed are they who can laugh at themselves, for they shall never cease to be amused”.

Medication – May be upping it. Whooooole other blog post, but I need to see this as what it is: a disease that I can treat with medication. Why is I feel that way for others but not myself?!

Novocaine – After 35 years, poor DH has to have his first (2!) cavities filled. He has Mrs. Horrible Teeth By Genetics as a wife so I’m going to need to practice the patience/sympathy thing…

Ooooh Boy – I’m been watching Quatum Leap (Goodness I love me some Scott Bakula….) and if you did to, you know that reference!

Procrastination – I’m having a really hard time with it. Still. Why? (See “M”, I know, I know…)

Quiet – As in my house. As in I wish it was a bit more often while the sun was up. Yet when The Boy goes to kindergarten next year I’ll miss it!

Rest – As in the mental kind. I could really use it…

Silly Story – DH and The Boy (and the Grandpa) love trains. I mean LOVE trains. So The Boy was looking at some and saw a “CSX” engine. “Look Mom! It’s a C – S – S3x Engine! Um, no, a C – S – S3x! C…… S…. S3x! UGH!” He could NOT say “CSX” all together, and it was all DH and I could do not to burst with laughter!”

Try Try Again – That seems to be a theme! I’m working on a Control Journal. Yes, AGAIN. It’s got to work sometime… right?!

Useless – I’m really sick of feeling that way! I don’t want to be the mom who offers to bake 8 dozen cookies, but dang it I want to be able to offer to do 2!

Vinegar. – Little known fact? I love vinegars. As in, I do “shots”. I put it on everything I can. YUM!

Worry – Soooo glad the worry is getting mostly under control with the meds. Seriously, how did I live before that?!

Xtra effort – One of the frustrating things about the meds is that I feel like it enables me to try even harder… but STILL not get anywhere!!

Yak – Don’t you love people you can just enjoy! You talk and talk and the time just flies! While it’s painful to think of those who I don’t do it with anymore, I’m loving and cherishing (and, see “G”!) those whom I still have!

Zeal – a synonym for ‘passion’. I love that! I feel like I have a lot of zeal… once I get it focused, watch out world!

True to my “Journey Into Perfectionist Blogging” tagline, I’m just going to hit “Publish”… YIPES!! 😀

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coming Back ABC’s

  1. Cwningen says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while, but I literally just subscribed today. So… Does that make three subscribers?

    Control Journal: I’ve probably had ten to twenty variations over the six years I’ve followed Fly Lady. I’m actually using the latest one. We use Cozi, so in the To Do section, I a list each for Routines, Daily, Weekly, Biweekly, and Monthly. My Bimonthly, Quarterly, Biannually, Annually, Biennial, Triennial, Decennial, and Zone lists all get printed out and put on a clipboard that hangs on the wall in our calendar station. I think you need to figure out what it means to and needs to be for you. Then you can figure out how to best handle each section. I don’t even call it my Control Journal any more. I call it my Home Manual, since that’s it’s purpose for me – running the house. I do keep all my general information in a single folder (titled Home Manual) on my laptop just to keep it all together.

    This ABC idea is neat. Would you mind, if I get the time, if I modify the idea and try it out myself?

    • Wow… I’m impressed!! about the Control Journal/Home Manual! Great job!! (And thanks for being my #3, especially since one of them may be spam…)

      Please, by all means, if anything here sparks something, go with it!

      • Cwningen says:

        Thanks! I really want to get back into my writing again, but there are always so many roadblocks. You’ll find what works for you with the control journal eventually. Just do what’s best for you without trying to completely fit into Fly Lady’s mold. I kept trying to do mine like I thought it should be instead of how I needed it to be.

Leave a Reply

