His 3rd Time Was A Charm

So, my darling husband’s first plan at proposing sounded very romantic.

We were going to be at a conference in DC, and while there we were going to see the Hope Diamond. While we were there, he was going to get down on one knee and say “It may not be the Hope Diamond, but will you marry me?” Thankfully, he knows me, and knew it would have been a bad idea.

Because I would have died of embarrassment.

And then killed him.

And then said NO.

In that order.

So the next weekend we were going to be at a good friend’s wedding, and then our parents were going to meet. The plan was for our friend to tie the ring in her bouquet before she threw it, and she was going to instruct all the women to back off at the last minute so *I* could catch it. Then he would propose right there.

Because somehow this is less embarrassing then the whole Hope Diamond situation.

Thankfully at the last minute one of her guests got upset that she didn’t have a chance to catch the bouquet and it was called off.

So we finished up and drove home.

And as soon as we got there he flew out of the car.

Because inside they all thought we were engaged.

So anyway the meet the parents thing is happening. Everyone is smiley. I noticed my mom had a camera. Huh? She doesn’t own one, why would she buy the disposable for this? Then I notice every one has a camera, even his little sister.

In hindsight, I knew something was up that weekend. I wasn’t sure what exactly, but there were so many little things that struck me as odd and once it happened, they all made sense!

So at some point – as I sat there in old shorts and a shirt with a bleach stain with my hair pulled back in a messy ponytail – out of the corner of my eye I see him reach into his pocket and start to get off his chair.

And I kind of knew then.

And the next thing I knew right there outside on his parent’s deck, he was on one knee asking me to marry him.

I won’t lie, I don’t remember the details, not even how he asked. I just remember this warm glow of happiness surrounding my heart.

And then we were hugging and cameras were flashing and everyone was hugging everyone else.

And finally, after awhile, I asked him something very important.

“Ummm… can you please put the ring on my finger?”

Honestly, I hadn’t even seen it! It was not what I was looking at when he proposed, and then after with all the hugging he had closed the box! I am not a jewelry girl but dang it, I wanted to wear my ring!!

And I’ve loved every minute of wearing it for the last 11+ years.

Want to read more engagement stories? Head on over to Mama Kat’s (pretty much world famous) Writing Workshop!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to His 3rd Time Was A Charm

  1. OneMommy says:

    Love how it was with family, and everyone having a camera…. That’s sweet!

  2. This made me laugh out loud! The Hope Diamond? Really? And then come on, you expect women…at a wedding…to not vie for the bouquet? Ha! So sweet that your family captured pictures of the moment. And 11+…congrats. We hit 10 next year and lemme tell ya it’s been fun, but there have been days filled w/thoughts of duct tape and tarp and the crawl space in the basement. Marriage rocks!

  3. Rachael says:

    What a great story! I love that after his ‘big’ ideas that it just ended up being the right time and moment when it was the right time.

  4. What a sweet story! How nice to have shared it with close family!

  5. Pattyann says:

    Oh, what a wonderful story. He totally must love you!!

  6. Cwningen says:

    I love it! I’ll have to write ours out sometime!

Leave a Reply

