I Really Wish Life Would Be A Bit More Boring

So, had an appointment with the doctor today to get my prescription refilled, and consider upping it.

So let’s start there.

Well, no, wait.

First the weight check (seriously, his scale is a good 8 pounds off… NOT in a good way.)

Then the BP check.

Which shows 130something over something.

Not great.

But last time he checked it was too, then when he checked at the end it was normal.

And when I check it at stores – as per his request – it’s been normal.

Still.

Not the best way to start.

So we talk about me seeing somebody who actually HELPS instead of telling me to read a book (when I’m still not ‘there’) and/or up my meds.

This is a good thing.

But then I mention that she says she wants me to consider upping the meds, and I wasn’t sure what I thought, and could I get his thoughts.

And he concedes that my dosage is pretty low, and the dosage she is suggesting is more normal.

And then he scoots in, telling me he’s going to give me his opinion.

And he says he doesn’t really think there’s such a thing as ADHD.

OK, before you freak out (oh and honey, this ain’t even the unboring part yet) let me summarize, because it really does kind of go along with my philosophy.

Basically, it sounds as if (and I never got a chance to clarify because of what happens in a bit) he feels that the meds may be necessary to start, but the only ‘cure’ (and no, he didn’t use that word) is to get to the root of the problem.

But we never got a chance to discuss an example of that because then he listened to my heart.

And got a funny surprised look.

To which I laughed, “It’s still beating, right?”.

To which he said, “You have a heart murmur.”

To which I said, “Seriously?” And laughed. Because really. Really?

To which he named 2 hospitals and asked which is closer, and then had his secretary call them so that they can call me (hopefully next Monday) to set up an ECHO.

Now, most likely it’s nothing to stress over, although it could affect my ability to take the meds. If there really even is anything.

Of course DH freaked out and was all “This is why you sometimes can’t catch your breath!”.

Which totally doesn’t help.

So. Yeah.

There it is.

Because really, we wouldn’t life to be boring now, would we?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Really Wish Life Would Be A Bit More Boring

  1. ~Kris J. says:

    oh my goodness…. 1 more thing, right?

  2. Because really, I need more excitement in my life…. šŸ˜›

    Most likely it’s nothing (he assured me that it’s possible he’ll get a note saying “Get some hearing aids”) but I’ll feel better once we know for sure!

  3. Cwningen says:

    Oh, good grief. You don’t need that!

  4. Pingback: Books |

  5. Pingback: Back To Basics? |

Leave a comment