Back To Basics?

Well, first off, the echo thingy on my heart went great! Likely no worries! And I had such a great time watching. The lady doing the ultrasound was great, she showed me everything and answered questions. It was fascinating! Thank you so much for your encouragement!

ANYway, yesterday I started thinking of doing FlyLady again, come January. I know that the habit of the month is shining your sink, and as I’m trying to get the dishes done every night anyway, it seemed perfect. But a lot about FlyLady is still just a bit much for me, at least right now. How can I do it all? (Or at least some of it!)

So on Twitter today, the subject of Control Journals was brought up. Seems like I’m not the only one who has a hard time following/utilizing them! FlyLady’s missions were mentioned, and I got to thinking of how I want to be able to do those. Then waytogomom and GAFlyGirl talked about using cards instead of the traditional binder. That got me thinking…

Awhile back I had read SideTracked Home Executives and enjoyed it. (It played a big role in getting FlyLady to where she is now.) In it was their ‘card system’. I even had my own version of the cards; I had different colored ones for basic routines (including individual rooms) and other reminders I wanted for that day on a metal ring. It worked out OK for a bit, before I started going more “FlyLady” in my thinking.

But now I’m thinking of revisiting that book. (You know, because I have nothing else to read….) I think the idea of individual cards for certain chores may be just what I need. Lists aren’t enough for me; the reason the ones on cards worked a bit more was because they were easy to carry with me and hold. Maybe if I use those cards, and am able to physically manipulate each ‘chore’, that will make it more real and doable. Perhaps I’m more of a tactile learner then I thought!

So yes, I’ll be adding a new book to that list. My goal is to read it and work on putting it together between now and the new year. So what do you think? Are you interested in trying it with me?

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in ADD/ADHD, Babysteps, Challenges, FLYlady, Home Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back To Basics?

  1. Joanna says:

    I’m definitely interested in working it with you! Great idea!

  2. I think this sounds like an interesting idea, and would be up for trying it, anything that works. I have just been doing the cozi calendar and posting what I get done but it’s mostly been focusing on my homeschooling accomplishments rather than a household to do list. my mom did a card system and she would write down certain chores down for certain days.like MWF- windexing, Tuesdays- dusting,etc something like that…

    • YES! That’s another advantage I like; I can schedule things that don’t have to happen every day – or even every week. Bill paying, changing sheets, things like that. I’m excited to experiment and feeling hopeful that I’ll find something that clicks. I hope we can really help each other out!

  3. Dana L. Fay says:

    I’ll stick with my Cozi version of the Control Journal, but I have several things in there that I want to edit, add on to, etc. I’ll try to follow with you that way and get my butt into gear at the same time. Thanks for the push!

Leave a Reply

