Lessons Learned, Part I

So, I’ve learned a few things this last week or so.

The first being, I sooo have ADHD.

Now, you may be sitting there thinking, “But, but, but… didn’t you learn that awhile ago?!”

Why yes. Yes I did. (Said in complete “Phineas and Ferb-ness”.)

But, see, I took the meds and I learned some things and I was seeing somebody to help and yes things were better but I kept thinking it was just the learning and the seeing and not so much the taking.

If we’re being honest, I have been totally worried it was all in my head.

So about a month ago my health insurance said they wanted me to take the generic form of medication. Well hey, I use generic medicine for colds and aches, why not?  Besides, I’m on a crazy low dose, so I should be fine.

So now we get to the second thing I learned:

Generic is NOT always the same.

Sooooo….. I was taking my meds la de dah and suddenly I had 4 straight nights of not being capable of falling asleep before 4am.

Huh.

And I was a tad bit… erm… irritable.

(OK, truthfully? I was nasty. I was yelling and mean and angry and picking fights with my husband. But let’s just go with irritable for now.)

I chalked it up to no sleep, and thought, “Hmm, this sleep thing started with the new meds. Maybe I need to take my 2nd dose earlier.”

Then I thought, “Hmmm…. this irritable thing started with the new meds…”

Oh dear.

I started to just take 1 a day. Early.

I just so happened to have an appointment with a counselor, so I asked what her thoughts were on generic. I mentioned I didn’t think it was working as well. She asked me what I was experiencing and didn’t seem the least bit shocked. She said that she hears that a lot, then something about fillers (hey, I was only on 1 day, and as you’ll read that 1 does diddley-squat) and mentioned I probably want to talk to my doctor.

Which I did. A couple weeks later. (Because as I alluded to above, turns out 1 dose is doing nothing. More details later.)

So my doctor is wonderful and sends me a new script right away and says it should be all set but if there’s anything more I need she can do it. I went to drop it off and explained that I wasn’t sure what would happen with the insurance because –

“Well, she can write DAW all over but if the insurance won’t accept it I can’t do anything.”

Gee, Mr. Pharmacist, thanks for interrupting but can I finish please?

After making me feel like a infantile pain in his neck, he sends me off saying they can’t fill it, he’ll call me after he talks to the insurance.

Thaaaaanks…

He called later that day saying the copay is a crazy amount and NOBODY would pay that much, to which I answered “Well don’t assume that, because if that medication is the only thing standing between a person and major, debilitating anxiety, you would be surprised”. He took the hint and was a lot less condescending.

Third thing learned: Being a pharmacist doesn’t mean you understand how life changing medication is.

So, I called insurance. They say my doctor needs to fill out a form. OK, great. I let her know.

This is Monday.

On Wednesday I call the pharmacy. They OKed me filling the script… at the crazy price.

OOooookay.

Back on the phone with insurance. Oh, nope, wrong form. We’ll fax your doctor the right form.

Sure. Great. Not sure why you didn’t tell me yesterday, but OK.

On Friday I get a letter. Apparently my doctor resent the paper… that is the same as the first one.

Wha!?!??!

Back to insurance.

I explain what is going on to the lady, who proceeds to “reexplain” it to me. I was fine until she said, “But since you have chosen not to accept he generic – “

Yeah, here’s where I threw manners out the window. Politely.

“Excuse me ma’am, but I fully accept the generic, but my body does NOT. I understand your needs to cut costs and I truly wish I could help  you with that, but this medication is NOT agreeing with me.”

Which FYI? Is sooooo much more polite then what I wanted to say.

That being said, she was MUCH more polite after that herself. So I guess the fourth thing I learned would be: Sometimes, you really do have to get a little gruff to make your point clear and be taken seriously.

Long story not-so-long, she said that there was a whoooole other form that needs to be filled out. To which I countered I appreciated her help but sure wish I could have been told that on Monday.

Well, today is Monday (a week later) and they still haven’t reviewed it. Of course they’re closed today and tomorrow. So it’ll be a month since I’ve had the proper medication. IF they decide to approve it.

So what has this meant for me? How did this help me realize I truly do have some chemical/neurological issues?!

Tune in later this week to find out!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons Learned, Part I

  1. ~kris says:

    Oh boy, I hope they get it sorted out – AND FAST!
    And I truly understand your situation. My doctor and I learned over the last 3-4 years that my body definitely responds to the brand name thyroid medication MUCH better then the generic. And yes, it very much had to do with different fillers… because there is more then 1 company that produces the generic kind, and no 2 are they same. The up side is that the brand name is so cheap, that my doctor writing DAW in the check box doesn’t raises any issues with insurance. I have been worried that E’s ADD medication, being generic (and they are using a different company this month from last month) is the best thing for her :-/

  2. jean says:

    So proud of you for standing up for yourself!

Leave a Reply

