How Could I Not?

Seriously, how could I not type today?

The start of a month. On a Sunday!

Well… Yes… I suppose there have been other months starting on a Sunday since I last typed. And maybe there have been some other biggie things like school ending, starting (and ending and starting… it’s been awhile, hasn’t it?) or a new calendar year…

Work with me here!

Why now? I dunno. Maybe I’m procrastinating the other zillion things I need to do just ready to really give this whole “conquering perfectionism” thing a try!

I’ll wait for you to stop laughing.

In all seriousness, I’ve been enjoying the blog A Slob Comes Clean soooo much! The author “Nony” (short for anonymous, although now she’s anything but!) is so relatable and down-to-earth and practical… I mean, I still love me some Flylady ! But Nony is just more realistic for me. I LOVE that she is NOT afraid to post pictures, namely Before and Afters! (Which SPOILER ALERT!! I hope to start doing here!). Flylady will always have a place in my  heart and I still love a lot of her ideas, but I guess I’m just getting more out of the other blog right now.

So, ANYway… I’ve really going for the whole “clean sink” thing this month. I’ve been doing it a bit the last couple of weeks but I’m trying to be serious about it! (Yes, that’s a big thing on both blogs!)

Want to hear a REALLY interesting dilemma? I have to convince my  husband to let me do the dishes instead of him!! Now, before you assume it’s a perfectionist thing (although I do tend to like my dishes… you know… *clean*…) there are some actual logical reasons to it!!

  1. I do ALL the dishes. For a man who loves Tetris and thrives on the words “I don’t think it will fit”, he sure doesn’t carry it over to the dishes! I see the pile as a challenge to artfully arrange them in the dish rack (and drying mat) in a way that is both aesthetically pleasing while allowing for optimal air flow, AND keeps them from crashing to the floor.
  2. I don’t JUST wash dishes. I rinse out recyclables and clean the really awesome cloth bags that I got from this shop on Etsy. Instead of leaving them on a pile by the sink.
  3. It doesn’t stop at the sink! What is the name of the phenomenon that makes it so natural to go from dishes to needing to wipe the counters, which means having to clean OFF the counters first, which also leads to wanting to sweep (because you just wiped the crud from the counters onto the floor)?

So. Yup. There you go. Let’s see how it goes. Both the blog and the sink!

About growingintome

Oh goodness... where to start! I am a preschool teacher with three little rugrats. A loving (usually!) wife. A Flybaby-in-training. Fascinated by natural childbirth and breastfeeding. Working on improving my knitting and crocheting. Would love to learn to play the piano and guitar. Dreaming of being a sign language interpreter. Totally amateur blogger. In case you didn't guess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

